Ginger Peach Muffins

A few weeks ago I bought several pounds of peaches and because I couldn’t eat them fast enough, I had no choice but to cut them up, throw them in a freezer bag with a spoonful of sugar, and toss them in the freezer. They’ve sat there for a little while until I realized what I would do with them: ginger peach muffins. I thought about peach raspberry muffins (another fruit I have stashed in my freezer), but I often combine raspberries and peach, and wanted something different. I rummaged through my pantry, and sure enough I had some dried ginger that doesn’t have sugar added. Perfect.

They are surprisingly easy to make, and I threw them together while I was waiting for some carrot ginger soup to come together (apparently I’m on a ginger kick). The result is a very moist and crumble muffin that is healthy, more or less. The ginger is not as spicy as I thought it would be, but the flavor profile is pleasant, warm, and downright delicious. Enjoy!

Ingredients:

6 tbsp unsalted butter

1/3 cup milk

1 egg

splash of vanilla extract

1 cup whole wheat flour

1/2 cup oats

1/2 cup sugar

1 1/2 tsp baking powder

3/4 tsp salt

2 cups diced peaches (frozen or not)

1 cup crystallized ginger, diced

1 tsp cinnamon

Preheat the oven to 375 F and get your muffin pan ready (mine doesn’t need the muffin wrappers, thankfully). Melt the butter in a saucepan or in the microwave. Let cool slightly, and mix the liquid ingredients and egg in a mixer until well-combined, then add the butter.

Mix the dry ingredients together, and slowly add to the wet ingredients while mixing slowly. Stir in the ginger and peaches, then spoon into the muffin pan.

Bake for approximately 25 minutes, or until a toothpick comes out clean. Rotate the pan two to three times to prevent burning.

This entry was published on October 12, 2012 at 12:45 pm. It’s filed under 30 Baked Goods and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Leave a Reply

