Aubade, n.

A song or poem greeting the dawn; also, a composition suggestive of morning.

It’s been a long time since I’ve woken up at dawn (willingly), but today I woke up with excitement and a rested mind. I just started my birthday vacation. In the morning I played a little piano before turning on some music, and, since I was in my basement, I couldn’t quite see the sun.

I played a quick ditty, hitting just a few notes in random succession. Nothing planned; nothing already written. It was just an aubade for my day that can never be replicated. Feeling restless with the start of my day, and in need of some action, I walked away from the piano, put my running shoes on, and headed out the door with headphones in my ear. I don’t remember the songs that played, but they were all aubades for the impending sunset of my twenties, and aubades for the dawn of thirty years.

This entry was published on April 21, 2012 at 2:44 pm. It’s filed under 30 New Words and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Leave a Reply

