Melopoeia, n.

The art of forming a melody, mostly used for a melodic passage.

This word itself sounds like a melodic passage, it is flowing with liquidity, then suddenly abrupt, but finished by a decrescendo of intermingling vowels.

I’ve always been a music lover. I’ve taught myself the piano for as long as I can remember, and I’ve picked up a lot of other instruments since then. My instruction was in percussion and rhythm, so I rarely had the chance to play the melody. I compensated by going home to my piano and creating melodies of my own. When I look back on some of my earlier attempts at songwriting, The melopoeia I created in my bedroom night after night were rudimentary and lacking focus. But I’ve slowly developed as a musician, in part because of a concerted effort, but also because I’ve grown as a person. And I’ve learned that the melopoeia in life is important, but it is nothing without the chords of family and the harmony of great friends.

This entry was published on April 12, 2012 at 1:05 pm. It’s filed under 30 New Words and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Leave a Reply

