Retrorse, adj.

1 Turned backward 2. pointing backwards or in a direction opposite of normal.

This is an extremely difficult word to use, since it mostly refers to parts of plants. But there comes a point when looking back on your life that you have to wonder if you’ve even bothered to look forward. This path of reflection I’m on has been a great journey for me; a new-found way of looking at the world and looking for the cause and effect of what has made me who I am. I am now getting to the point where I’m understanding who I am, and starting to look more intently at my future. As a result, looking back at my past feels as though I’m taking one step forwards and two retrorse steps. I know it’s natural to look at your past, but there comes a point when it is the opposite of what you should be doing, and that’s almost where I feel now.

This entry was published on April 1, 2012 at 9:47 pm. It’s filed under 30 New Words and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Leave a Reply

